Conflicting Lessons from Gunner and Georgia

Last Wednesday was so special because it was both of my dogs’ birthdays. Yup, both Gunner and Georgia were born on July 1, just 3 years apart, respectively. Those two truly are members of our family, and Tim and I just couldn’t love them more. They are each very much their own dog, with hilariously unique personalities.

In honor of their birthdays, here are the most important life lessons I’ve learned from Gunner and Georgia, in which I’m sure you will see just how different they are:

Gunner:                                                                  

1- Most people are only ok. Be selective. When you find really great people though, don’t hold back at all in showing your love for them.

2- Food is only ok. Except for sweets. Sweets are their own and vastly superior food group.

3- Hold a special place in your heart for your mother.

4- Being sassy will often times get you what you want.

5- Everything can be fixed with a butt-scratch.

6- Even though your little sister is super-annoying, sometimes it’s fun when she tags along.

Georgia:

1- All people deserve a chance. Be open-minded. When you find anyone, and I literally mean anyone, don’t hold back at all in showing your love for them.

2- All food is delicious, and nothing is more motivating than the promise of a meal or tasty treat.

3- Hold a special place in your heart for your father.

4- Being sweet will often times get you what you want.

5- Everything can be fixed with a belly-rub.

6- Even though your big brother is the COOLEST, sometimes it’s fun to put him in his place.

I can’t tell you how lucky I feel to have both of these dogs in my life. I hope to celebrate many more birthdays with them!

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • I made these cocoa brownies two weeks ago for my weekly recipe (rich and awesome), and this cold brew coffee (easy and so tasty) last week.
  • We ended up having to cancel our trip to see Lindsey and Brian. Our washer acted up, and we had a 3-day weekend to address it as well as a host of other issues around our house. Why does being an adult have to involve doing really un-fun things instead of the things you actually want to do?
  • I finished book #8, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. There were a few laughs, but if I’m honest, it was probably my least favorite I’ve read this year.
  • I kept up with writing and taking photos. Below is Tim about to give Gunner and Georgia their birthday treats.

image

Leave a Reply

