Summer Bucket List

I feel like every summer I name several things I want to do, either with my husband or friends, leading with “we should…” sentences. You know the drill, I’m sure. “We should go camping/have a cookout/learn how to can fruits and veggies” and so on and so on. I have no problems verbalizing them. My problem is always the follow through. Life or laziness or both tend to get in the way, and before I know it, it’s fall. One of the best parts about maintaining this blog and my 29 before 30 list is that it’s held me to my word– and for that, I’m so grateful because I have accomplished goals and made memories along the way that perhaps I wouldn’t have done otherwise. I really want to apply a little bit of that same follow through to my summer because right now work is a little lighter with my students gone, the weather is amazing, and the days last longer. And also, isn’t there just something about summer that feels like it’s the time to do fun things?

Here are just a few things I really want to do before my summer ends:

-Take my dogs swimming. Lots.

-Spend the weekend at my family’s cabin.

-Plant an herb garden.

-Have several picnics.

-Get some cute patio furniture.

-Host a brunch.

-Take advantage of my parents pool.

-Visit several of the nearby state parks.

-Go to the drive-in movie theater.

-Make cold-brew coffee.

-Play ladderball or cornhole or both.

-Take some fun daytrips.

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • I made two recipes last week to make up for the lack of one while we were on vacation. First, I made this thin crust pizza, which I topped with olive oil, garlic, fresh tomatoes, parmesan, basil, and pepperoni. I can’t recommend this crust enough– it was SO easy and turned out perfectly. Then, over the weekend I made toasted marshmallow milkshakes. They were amazing!
  • I dealt with a horrible migraine over about 3 days last week, so my sweet, sweet husband booked me a facial and neck/shoulder massage to help relax. I paired that with a much-needed manicure, and thus, treated myself to a pretty fantastic spa day.
  • The night I made milkshakes, Tim made the best cheeseburgers and French fries, and we ate out on the porch for the best date-night in we’ve had in awhile!
  • I kept up with writing and taking photos all last week.

 

Leave a Reply

