On My Mother

With Mother’s Day having just passed, I would be remiss if I didn’t take a moment or two to express just how lucky I am to have the woman I call Mom in my life.

Never on this earth has a more gentle and compassionate person existed than my mom. She is the person who always sees the good in people and knows how to bring it out of them. She is never demanding but always endlessly supportive. She is considerate and so very gracious. She is a person of the highest integrity.

I have a lifetime of memories with my mom because she always been there for me, but what really stands out for me is that she has never once forgotten a big day or big moment in my life (or my siblings’ lives either, for that matter). She always wrote good luck notes before a big test, track or gymnastics meet, or interview. She has never let a single Valentine’s day, anniversary, accomplishment, or birthday go by without a sweet card. And whenever I’m stressed or having a really busy work week, she always sends me a text to let me know she’s thinking of me and knows I’ll make it through. She is the single most thoughtful person I know.

Thanks, Mom, for all you’ve ever done and will continue to do for me. You really are the best, and I love you!

List accomplishments as of last post:

  •  I made pesto, and then proceeded to put it on everything: steak, grilled asparagus, tomatoes, sandwiches. So good!
  • I worked on tracing the other (maternal) side of my family tree. Another item checked off!
  • Sunday was a total date night in, complete with Thai food and a Game of Thrones binge.
  • I’ve kept up with writing and actually have slowly eased back to at least taking a few pictures a week. In the spirit of my post though, here’s one of me and my sweet mama from a few weeks back:

image

Leave a Reply

