Rainy Day Music

Am I the only one out there whose musical inclinations are affected by the weather? Maybe it’s the weird way my brain works, but Motown/Al Green/Aretha sound best on snow days, the Beach Boys and really any other 60s pop shine some sonic sunshine in those really early days of March when you want it to be warmer than it is, and outlaw country (we’re talking Waylon and Willie and the boys) is meant to be listened to while outside on hot summer days, preferably with a cold drink in your hand.

Well here in Indiana, it’s been really rainy the past few weeks, and for me, there is a really natural pairing musically for rainy days: alt-country/Americana, or whatever you want to call it. This is basically scientific fact, and if you don’t believe me, try listening to Whiskeytown or the Jayhawks or Uncle Tupelo or the Avetts next time the rain starts to fall. I can’t explain it, but this type of music somehow sounds its best on a drizzly and overcast afternoon. Trust me on this one.

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • I made this spaghetti squash carbonara, and it was seriously SO good. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I did not miss the pasta.
  • Speaking of Whiskeytown, my brother lent me Losering, A Story of Whiskeytown which I started and finished over the course of a few hours this past weekend to complete book #7. The book was really interesting to get an inside peek at Ryan in Raleigh in the late 90s, on the cusp of being famous. However, the author inserted himself WAY too much in the story, which I found really distracting.
  • Tim and I had our weekly date night last Friday.
  • I kept up with writing in my journal and taking photos.
Leave a Reply

