One of the Big Moments

Life is made up of assorted moments that have varying levels of impact. For example, sometimes moments seem small but end up having a huge impact or vice versa. Well last week for Tim and I was big all-around. We’re talking monumental moment, colossal impact.

Last Thursday, on what ended up being the coldest day of winter thus far, Tim and I closed on our first house. It’s a 1970’s tri-level on almost an acre of wooded land, and although it needs a lot of work, we absolutely love it. I can picture hosting dinner parties with our family and friends there, drinking a glass of wine on the back porch and watching my dogs play in the yard, snuggling up to Tim around a fire in our fireplace, and making so many other memories. I can see our lives blooming there, and it’s one of the most exciting feelings I’ve ever experienced.

We will be taking our time doing a few renovations and updates to the home over the next month and a half or so before we officially move into it. I know it’s going to be a lot of hard work, but I think it will be really fun to take on this challenge with my husband by my side and I also know it’s going to be so rewarding to see the fruits of our labor.

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • Total disclaimer here: not only did we close on the house last week, but I was also really sick last week and I’m just now on the mend. Therefore, I didn’t really attack much on my list at all. I did sneak in a weekly recipe last Sunday before I got sick which was turkey black bean chili.
  • I also managed to get a few pictures in. Here are a few related to the house:
The keys!

The keys to our first home!

Backyard view at our new house.

Backyard view at our new house.

After Krissy and I painted the bathroom.

After Krissy and I painted the bathroom.

3 thoughts on “One of the Big Moments

  1. Jill Vandeventer (mom)

    Congratulations! Love your new house too! Plus now I can give you all your “stuff” that is cluttering up your old room, ha! Proud of you and Tim for this accomplishment!

    Reply
  2. Lindsey

    I’m so happy for you and Tim! I absolutely love your back yard. All of that glorious space is all yours! I want to see it in person – maybe to celebrate your big 3-0!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

