Ending on a High Note

It’s hard not to reflect on the past year in this time between Christmas and New Year’s Eve. And I have to admit, I’ve been reflecting that 2014 was a pretty great year. I’m sure that sounds arrogant, but I mean it with the most sincere intentions. In my 29 years, they certainly have not all been easy. I’d be lying if I said there weren’t some really bruised years. But this past year was honestly one of my best– and it’s ending on a really high note:

Tim and I are in the process of closing on a house we really love. It’s taken a lot of hard work over the past nearly two years for Tim and I to work towards saving enough money for a down payment, and sometimes it felt like we’d never get there. But those struggles are what make this all the more sweeter. I feel so much pride for what Tim and I have accomplished together, and we’ve also been lucky enough to have tremendous love and support from our friends and family through the process. Come mid-January, we should be homeowners!

The house is really the icing on this cake of a year.There were so many highlights, such as pulling off a surprise birthday celebration trip to Nashville with my dear friend for his wife and my husband, a last-minute trip to South Carolina with my parents for some March Madness fun, and a concert in Indianapolis this past summer with my brother and sister and their spouses. Tim and I celebrated our 5th anniversary on the beaches of Tulum, Mexico, I made a really positive career change that is already proving to be so rewarding, and doing this 29 Before 30 has been so fun and enriching. And the best part of the year: my friends and family are all healthy and happy. A girl really couldn’t ask for more.

I hope your year was just as great. But if it wasn’t, the promise of a brand new year is just around the corner and it’s a chance to start over. Here’s to 2015!

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • I made these sweet potato and black bean enchiladas for my weekly recipe. We haven’t eaten them yet– I stuck them in our fridge to heat up one night this week for an easy dinner, but they look and smell really good!
  • Tim and I had a great day trip/date night last Friday. We went down to Evansville to watch the high school basketball team my dad is helping coach play a game. It was so much fun to watch the game, and Tim and I went out for THE BEST Chinese food before it.
  • I’ve only been focusing on the Academy Award winners for best picture that I haven’t seen, but I saw that Netflix had 1976’s winner, Rocky, so I rewatched it this morning while doing housework. Such a classic!
  • I’ve continued writing and taking photos.
Leave a Reply

