Top 5 Christmas Comedies

I’m a total sucker for pretty much all Christmas movies, but I hold a very dear place in my heart for the comedies. They are ones I watch each year without ever getting tired of them.

There are, however, a few that are far superior. In my humble opinion, here are the Top 5 Christmas Comedy Movies, ranked:

5) Fred Claus. Super funny cast– Vince Vaughn, Kathy Bates, Kevin Spacey, John Michael Higgins. My favorite part of the movie: Paul Giamatti as Santa.

4) Home Alone. A classic from my childhood. You can’t NOT love this movie. Favorite scene: John Candy as Gus Polinksi, Polka King of the Midwest.

3) A Christmas Story. The best storytelling. It doesn’t matter how many times you’ve seen it, you always laugh. Favorite quote: “Aah! Fra-gee-leh! It must be Italian.”

2) Elf. Two words. WILL. FERRELL. This movie is perfect. It’s so hard to pick a favorite part, but I do particularly love the scene where Buddy sees the Gimbel’s Santa and says to him: “You sit on a throne of lies!” and “You smell like beef and cheese, you don’t smell like Santa.”

And, drum roll, please….

1) National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. If you disagree, then you are wrong and I feel sorry for you. Not only is this the best Christmas comedy and probably best Christmas movie period, but it’s one of the most quotable films of all time. It’s impossible to pick a favorite line, but here’s just a sampling of what Tim and I quote to each other on a year round basis:

“Why’s the carpet wet, Todd? I don’t know Margot!”

“And when Santa squeezes his fat white ass down that chimney tonight, he’s gonna find the jolliest bunch of assholes this side of the nuthouse.”

“Oh, Eddie… If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now. ”

“Every time Catherine revved up the microwave I’d piss my pants and forget who I was for a half hour or so.”

“Why do you need a coat and a hammer? Catch it in a coat. Smack it with a hammer.”

And obviously, last but not least:

“That there’s an RV.” and “Shitter’s full.”

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to need to watch Christmas Vacation for the 651st time.

Happy Holidays, everyone!!

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • I finished book #3, Blood, Butter, and Bones. Beautiful and sad and hopeful. I also started book #4, Barrel Fever, the collection of essays and short stories by David Sedaris.
  • For week eleven’s recipe, I made this easy homemade ramen, and yesterday I made a homemade chicken noodle soup that I didn’t really follow a recipe for, but it was sort of close to this.
  • I mailed out all of my Christmas cards!
  • I got my first framed family wedding photo: My grandma gave me a copy of the below photo from her wedding day. How stunning are she and my grandpa?
  • I took part in something charitable around the holidays. Tim and I are both really passionate about pets, which is obvious due to the love of our dogs. We both truly believe in animal shelters, as Gunner was a shelter puppy, and our shelter here in Bloomington does an amazing job. Yesterday, we went to Big Lots and Target and gathered up toys, bones, blankets, cleaning supplies, and treats to donate to the Bloomington Animal Shelter. They were so appreciative when we dropped everything off, and it made my heart so happy to give to a cause I believe in so deeply. Here’s the link to their Amazon Wish List if you feel so inclined.
  • I continued writing and taking photos. Here are a few shots from last week:

 

His and hers cocktails.

His and hers cocktails.

Our staff retreat was  to the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

Our staff retreat was to the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

My beautiful grandmother and grandfather leaving for their honeymoon.

My beautiful grandmother and grandfather leaving for their honeymoon.

Our donation to the Animal Shelter.

Our donation to the Animal Shelter.

Leave a Reply

