One Monthiversary

I can’t believe I’m already one month into my 29 Before 30.

On one hand, I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot and have really gotten a good start on my list, but on the other, I feel like there is still so much to do! Time always seems to go so fast, but I swear the  last month has FLOWN. Although Bloomington has experienced a bit of an Indian summer the past few warm days, I can already see that the majority of the leaves have started to fall and before we know it, winter and the holiday season will be setting in. Unbelievable.

One thing I’ve already learned from this 29 Before 30 is to make every single day count. I love that two of my list items, the daily photos and writing, keep me accountable to each day. It’s really fulfilling to me to set out living every passing day with intent. I’ve always struggled with anxiety, and there is something about having those two daily rituals that has really helped to calm my anxiety quite a bit. I think it’s the routine of it– it’s given me a positive place to channel that energy, and for that, I’m thankful.

The list has also been fun. I love that I’m spending more time focusing on creating memories with my friends and my family and doing the things that make me happiest. One of my all-time favorite tv shows is Friday Night Lights, and in one episode, my favorite character Tim Riggins gives this hilarious speech to his brother about how since he has gone to college, all of his time is taken up with things he doesn’t want to do but has to do. “Where’s the me time, Billy?”  he asks.

Basically, in the last month, I’ve been taking back my me time. And boy does it feel good.

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • Made the most delicious weekly recipe, Sticky Bourbon Chicken with Rice. If you ever do anything I tell you, MAKE THIS. You’re welcome.
  • Planned my girls’ day with my mom and sister. It’s coming up in the next two weeks, and I absolutely can’t wait!
  • Had my weekly date with the hubs on Sunday, which included a day trip to the Morgan-Monroe State Forest on an absolutely beautiful day.
  • Wrote and took photos each day. Here are some shots from the past week!
This leaf is gorgeous!

This leaf is gorgeous!

Gunner in the backyard.

Gunner in the backyard.

He's the cutest.

He’s the cutest.

 

One thought on “One Monthiversary

Leave a Reply

