On Concerts

Concerts are my happy place.

Beginning as a small child, my parents would tote me along to see live shows. I am so thankful for that because it has led to a lifelong love. The first concert I can remember going to was a bluegrass festival along the Ohio River in Owensboro, KY with my dad. That night, we got to see an extremely young (and then sort of unknown) Alison Krauss & Union Station and Doc Watson– probably my dad’s all-time favorite musician, and someone who holds a very special place in my heart as well. I got to meet Alison Krauss and have my first of many pictures with Doc (I’d go on to be lucky enough to be able to see him at least a half dozen more times before his sad 2012 passing). Not too shabby for a 6 year-old!

Since then, my passion for music and seeing live shows has only grown, and I’ve gotten to see everyone from Bob Dylan to Jay Z. Since getting married, completing graduate school,  and my husband and I both settling into our careers, the concerts have started to be less and less frequent as our schedules got busier. Like a lot of other things on my 29 before 30, I really wanted to spend this next year refocusing on things I love, like seeing as many concerts as possible and feasible.

Saturday night, I got a fantastic head start on my goal of seeing 6 concerts this year by seeing Jason Isbell at the Buskirk Chumley. I had seen Jason before, back when he was with the Drive-By Truckers, but I hadn’t seen him since he has been solo and his 2013 album  Southeastern is one of my very favorites from this past year. His lovely wife Amanda Shires opened, and she was incredible, as was Jason. But the best part of the whole evening was when they played together– which luckily was the majority of the evening. I don’t think I’d ever seen a married couple play together, and it felt so intimate, like you were sitting  in their living room. Their voices and his guitar and her violin sounded though they had been made for each other. You know how sometimes you think you really like a musician, and then you see them live and they just don’t live up to your expectations? Jason and Amanda both were the exact opposite, totally blowing Tim and me both away and making us fall in love even more with their music.

List accomplishments as of last post:

  • Cooked my third weekly recipe, Banana Oatmeal Bread. Side note: apparently Taylor Swift and I read the same baking blog, Joy the Baker!
  • Watched my third Best Picture winner, which was 1980’s Ordinary People. It was such an honest look at life. Just hauntingly beautiful, sad, and even a little funny at times, too.
  • Continued writing and taking photos each day. Below are  some of my favorite shots from the week.
Before the Jason Isbell concert

Before the Jason Isbell concert

Jason and Amanda

Jason and Amanda

Made a fancy honey and cinammon latte

Made a fancy honey and cinnamon latte

Fall drives in Indiana are the prettiest

Fall drives in Indiana are the prettiest

 

One thought on “On Concerts

Leave a Reply

